The Hyenas {Part Two}

I had resigned myself to death.

The earth that was our grave would become our final resting place. The earth where me and my siblings played about with clay and mama would clean the hut and fetch water with her friends would be our final resting place.

But as I closed my eyes ready to leave this plane, I felt it before I saw its face.

It pierced my foot with such intensity the pain woke me up from my slumber.

It gripped tight, much tighter then when mama would grab me to give me a beaten before bed. These were teeth is what I could gather in my incoherent state. Teeth much different from when Adeben, my brother, bite into my flesh that day I beat him swimming across the lake.

This felt like that except I felt evil instead.

I cleaned my eyes the best I could and strained to see the animal that dragged me to my death. From the laughter and snickering I heard from the east and west, I realized it was the hyenas that played along the forbidden path in May.

Leave a Reply

